Math is a Scary Subject

I am not a numbers person. Numbers, in my opinion, are the more definitive version of truth. For example, it may be true that I know deep down I should not be spending money on eating out tonight. But when I actually see the number of dollars resting in my bank account, it is then that the truth actually sinks in. At least that’s how I look at it.

This morning I was faced with a sad truth when I came across this article from CarInsurance.com. What I found after reading it? The difference between a loyal caffeine addiction and paying your car insurance over the course of 60 years is only about $6,000.

I know most of you are seeing the number and not seeing why I think it’s so small. Well, that’s because the average amount paid on car insurance over 60 years is roughly $94,000. Do the math, and you’ll see my truth.

I don’t like to think about the amount I’ve spent on coffee over the last few years. I know it’s bad. But reading that article this morning and seeing the actual number typed out and published released a tiny bit of quilt in me.

The silver lining for me is that a caffeine addiction will not kill me. So I’m a little better off than some people in that regard I guess.

Do you guys think about the cost of some of your favorite habits over time? Or would you rather  just live in the moment and not worry about the numbers?

 

6 thoughts on “Math is a Scary Subject

  1. Sometimes, I think about the fact that I get coffee three or four times a week and want to rip out my taste buds that make me enjoy coffee. But then I feel the same way when I get acrylic nails put on or pay $60 for an ear piercing. Sometimes, you just gotta do what you love!

    But not pay $7 for a Starbucks coffee…

  2. I drink coffee on break everyday in the summer and didnt realize it takes that much of a toll on my money. I like to get a caffeine fix in the morning so i will probably keep drinking coffee.

  3. As a college student, finances are always a difficult thing to keep track of. Having two jobs on campus and one back home during breaks is the reality of getting an education. The best thing to do is to see the optimism in it all. I guess I see the jobs that I have as work experience and that I will have learned things that some employees will not have learned at a future career occupation.

What'd you think?

