What Does the US and India Have in Common?

Happy Friday, my fellow coffee-loving bloggers.

As I sip my delicious Dunkin’ Donuts iced coffee, I decide to check up on the trending topics on my beloved Twitter. ‘Starbucks’ was on the list yet again. Naturally, I ask “Why?”, and snoop further.

Turns out that Starbucks, the largest coffee-chain in the world, is expanding its business into the second most populated nation in the world: India.

I don’t think it’s news to anyone that Starbucks is struggling in the US lately. And with the recession in Europe not helping their business either, they had to come up with some sort of rescue plan. So India is their solution.

The store is located in a wealthy Mumbai neighborhood, and not surprisingly, the prices in this store are at the higher end of the local coffee shop price spectrum.

Starbucks has stated that they’d like to continue to expand globally. They already have just over 6,000 shops in 49 countries. However, with their slow decline in sales, Dunkin’ Donuts fans like myself can’t help but wonder just how long they can stay on top…(insert evil grin here).

*Note from the author…I wrote this on Friday while sipping on iced coffee, BUT, it was published today (Monday) while enjoying a hot coffee. Sorry for any confusion!*

4 thoughts on “What Does the US and India Have in Common?

  1. I enjoyed this post. I think it was very informational and brief. I found it easy to read because it gave us the information we wanted to find out from the title, which was what do the US and India have in common?

  2. I thought that your links were very helpful in keeping this post brief. You provided your readers with basic information to keep the story moving along but also gave your audience a chance to look further into this breaking news story in the coffee world. I also enjoyed your note from the author at the end. Good work!

  3. I really liked this post and thought i was really quick, but informative. The author note at the end really brought a lot of personality through the whole post.

  4. Glad to see that your classmates appreciated the brevity of the post even as they found it informative – – that’s not always an easy combination to pull off, and your effective use of links no doubt helped in that regard.

    The title sounds a little awkward – – I think in order to be grammatically correct it would need to read “What Do the US and India Have in Common?” – – since “the US and India” is a compound subject…

What'd you think?

